<< Go back

The Yalta Conference

The Yalta conference took place in February 1945. It was a meeting between Stalin, Churchill and Roosevelt. At this point Soviet forces were only 65km from Berlin and the Western forces had advanced to the German border.

There were several important agreements following the Yalta conference:

  1. Germany would be divided into three zones of occupation (British, American and Soviet) with a fourth zone for France to be established from territory in the British and American zone.
  2. The eastern border of Poland would be moved to the Curzon line. To offset the loss of territory, Poland would be given territory from Poland.
  3. Stalin promised free elections in Poland.
  4. Roosevelt managed to get Stalin to agree to participate in the United Nations.
  5. The USSR would enter the US's fight against Japan.